The Home Run Ball

It was Oklahoma's second straight Orange Bowl appearance and their second straight Big Eight Conference title. This was Penn State's first Orange Bowl appearance since 1974.

A swarming defense, a record field goal performance and two big plays helped Oklahoma defeat Penn State to capture both the Orange Bowl and its sixth national championship. Butkus Award winner Brian Bosworth had 13 solo tackles and the OU secondary picked off four Penn State passes to thwart any rallies. Tim Lashar booted an Orange Bowl record four field goals to give the Sooners an early lead. Lydell Carr and Keith Jackson then provided big plays, a 61-yard jaunt by Carr and a 71-yard pass play from Jamelle Holieway to Jackson.

Post a Comment

Copyright © Sooners Video. Designed by OddThemes | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service